Right it’s time for me to have a good old moan about the up and coming world cup which I believe starts today and goes on for over four weeks….Loads of money will be made for a select few in a country where most of the people live to a very poor standard and well below what we would call acceptable, we must not forget the very high level of aids and the very high number of orphaned children who have lost their parents to aids….But I am guessing that this will get brushed aside and we will see football glamour and all the extras that go with this image….like the wag’s or whatever they are called…
Another point is in the country of ours the extras and latches onto football that have appeared, it seems that everywhere I go at the moment there is someone of something that is supporting the world cup from a commercial point of view, most of the shops seem to have latched onto this. I now understand that McDonalds are the official restaurant of the world cup. McDonalds and restaurant are not two words that i would put in the same sentence. I have found out the England football team has an official supermarket and this is Tesco. I just can’t image the Likes of Wayne Rooney popping down to their local supermarket let alone Tesco…..But on visiting Tesco for the weekly shop I am bombarded with extras relating to football…T shirts balls stickers and the like and it just seems too much and most of the goods is of a poor quality but expensive…The shop is full of flags for the world cup and to me it all seems too much for me. I even noticed that B & Q the DIY retailer has got into the act and is selling world cup extras including a gnome painted in the England colours…I just wonder how much money has exchanged hands for these sponsorship deals and how much of this money will find its way back to the people who deserve it…
Am I the only one who has lost interest with football and isn’t that interested in the world cup any more….Many years ago in the summer of 1974 when the world cup was in German and England were not there due to loosing I think to Poland. My mother offered to buy me a sports bag for school and the option in the shop was Scotland Nederland’s and one other that I can’t remember. My mother was hinting at Scotland but there was no way I was going to have a bag with the Scotland name on it so I opted for the Nederland’s and I have supported them ever since, not sure why but I have never been a fan of the England team… I don’t see this as being unpatriotic just my choice for who I support…I will not watch the world cup this summer as I believe it’s all about the money and not the game anymore and too much money will be made for the wrong people…
I was shocked to read in the Metro on Thursday morning that the penny has dropped and everyone is worried about the extra crime that is going to take place. South Africa is a lovely country and the people are very warm and friendly but there is a crime problem and this is likely to be in the form of mugging and street robberies and the odd car jacking…There is very high unemployment in South Africa so this leads to crime and also the Police are not that well paid. So the wealthy people employ security guards who are armed and react much fast than the police to an incident. So I believe there will be a lot of crime sad as it is I can’t think of a way to prevent this happening…
My last thoughts are to the BBC, I would love to know what their budget is as to me it seems that every employee with the BBC is in South Africa for the world cup… For starters why does Nicky Cambell have to host the breakfast show out in South Africa, don’t understand that and I guess loads of others are out there too….In a year when the BBC is cutting some of its Radio stations to save money and has lost the rights to broadcast the Rugby world cup in 2011 on the radio I just wonder how much has been spent and I always understood that the BBC was there to cover events for the minority and not spend fortunes bidding against rivals for the rights of the world cup (Football)….I am just not happy with this what are they providing for non football fans…I guess nothing and the obviously don’t care about the rugby fans……

Thank you for reading my blog and I have just heard that this world cup has cost $ 6,600,000,000 to build and put on….now that’s a waste in my book…..Please let me know what you feel excited or fed up….
So if you’re not a fan of Football or Big Brother there is nothing on television for the next 4 odd weeks just as well there are enough songs on my iPod to play nonstop for that period and not get a repeat……

