On Tuesday  I went for a rather ambitions cycle ride along the River Lee, The day started with me taking my bike on the train to London and then onto the circle like to get across town to Liverpool street for another train to Waltham Cross and then a short cycle ride to the park at Waltham Abbey and then i had a short cycle round the park before checking the map and finding the nation cycleway number 1 and the route to central London…..I found the cycleway in the middle of a housing estate in Essex and after a few wrong times (lack of sign posts) I was on my way and I followed the river Lea heading south….The paths were good and there were some lovely parks and as I followed the river through another housing estate with no signs again and then onto the river towpath at Enfield locks…. and back to following the river again….I was dismayed to find a television dumped in the river and the river was very low too but I guess that’s due to the lack of rain this year…..This wasn’t the only television i found and as i got into central London there were black bin bags too….It’s not nice and a shame that people can’t take better care of where they live and the local environment. He are a few photos I took today while cycling along the towpath….I managed to ride from Waltham Abbey to St Pancras station along towpaths etc apart from the last 200 metres and about a half a kilometre when the Regents Canal goes under Islington….

   I dont have a clue what type of duck the one at the top is but there were five or six of them just ploding around on the bank….they looked like over sized ducks but i dont think they were…..The herons were funny i must have seen half a dozen and by the time i had set the camera up they had all flown apart from the top one that seemed to enjoy posing for me….I love Herons they are such graceful birds and look stunning but wish they would pose for me…..just once…

    Found the swan and her brood on a nest just before i reached Tottenham, the cygnets were very tame and were not bothered by me or my camera and there mother was very relaxed too…I am not sure where the father was as its so unusual to see the swan family with one of the adult members missing…..This part of the river was full of berthed barges and river boats and some were very odd looking and there were a couple of lovely looking Thames barges as well…

Then when  i was crossing Hackney Marches i came across this stunning tree not sure what it is but the colours were fantastic….

  I am sure the above is a domestic shrub that i found growing alongside the towpath today…..but for the like of me i cant remember the name and i have the feeling the berrys were out of season…The next picture is of the view from the Old Ford locks and this was my last view of the River Lea…..before i turned onto the Hertford Canel to head toward the Regents Canel….

  I came across this rather large barge on the Hertford canal and the crew were draging and guiding her through the bridge and along the canal as she was having problems with her steering gear. She was under her own power but with such a deep draft and a shallow canal the barge and prop were catching the bottom of the canal but they made it….

After this i passed Victoria park the first public park in England and opened in 1854 then turned right onto the Regents Canal and i made my  way to St Pancras apart for the diversion where the canal goes under Islington…it has been 16 years since i was last on  the towpath of the Regents Canal and how it had changed and for the better i might add…..I will do this cycle way again soon and spend more time exploring some of the areas i passed and then i do plan to do the length of the River Lea from Leagrave near Luton to the River Thames….

Thank you  for taking the time to read my blog……

